Summer Soup

17 Aug

I tried a new recipe this past weekend for a grilled sweet corn and chipotle chile soup I found on Annie’s Eats. It turned out pretty tasty, although I will admit it might not be the healthiest soup out there. I actually ended up halving the amount of heavy cream and half and half that was originally called for in the recipe. I also used chipotle chilis in adobo sauce in lieu of fresh chipotles because I couldn’t find them. I don’t think it makes much of a difference, personally, and the adobo sauce gives it that extra little southwestern kick. Without further adieu, here is my adaptation of Grilled Sweet Corn & Chipotle Soup.

Ingredients:
-5 cobs of fresh sweet corn
-2 chiles (from a can of chipotle chilis in adobo sauce)
-1 jalapeno pepper
-2 cups chicken broth
-1 cup heavy cream
-1 cup half and half
-olive oil
-salt
-black pepper (to taste)
-cumin (to taste)

Instructions:
1. Shuck and silk the corn cobs.
2. Rub corn cobs with olive oil and salt
3. Heat up a grill pan, griddle, or outdoor grill.
4. Apply corn cobs to heat, turning at regular intervals. The goal here is to achieve blackening to a few rows of kernals. I personally used a griddle (I don’t own a grill pan and my outdoor grill was out of propane) and it turned out great.
5. After the corn is grilled to your liking, remove the kernels into a large bowl. I recommend a serrated knife, unless you are so lucky to have this. I also suggest sticking one of those corn cob holders in the top of the cob as you are removing the kernels because the corn is very hot!
6. On a cutting board, remove the seeds and membranes from the jalepeno. At this point I also took two chipolte chiles from the can and sort of squeezed out the majority of the sauce. Toss all of the peppers into a blender or food processor.
7. Add all but one cup of the corn (set this aside) to the blender along with 1 cup of the broth.
8. Add black pepper and cumin to the blender. I probably used about a tablespoon of each.
9. Blend!
10. Add the blended mixture to your soup pot along with the remaining broth, heavy cream, and half and half.
11. Heat the soup through. Be sure to stir regularly so the dairy does not burn.
12. Season the soup with a little salt–I found that the soup needed some.
13. To serve, ladle into a bowl and top with the corn kernels you previously set aside
**I chose to add some diced chicken to the soup and I think this was a great idea**

Soup!

2 Responses to “Summer Soup”

  1. Carla August 26, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    Sounds great! Maybe you could make this for us sometime.

  2. Carla August 26, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    I really enjoy reading your blog. Keep it up!

Leave a comment