My Quest for the World’s Greatest Mac & Cheese

17 Aug

A couple of weeks ago I decided that I need to go on a quest. A quest for the World’s Greatest Mac & Cheese. Despite my deep and abiding love for Velveeta Shells and Cheese, a good cook needs to have a tried and true recipe for what is, in my opinion, the ultimate comfort food.

Damn you velveeta shells and cheese! Last night I got home and at a whole box of you… with a hot dog chopped up top.Why must you taste so damn good?

...more like crack & cheese.

The first contender comes from (who else?) The Pioneer Woman. You can link to her recipe here. I followed it to the letter, with the exception of using 1/2 pound extra sharp cheddar and 1/2 pound (regular) sharp cheddar. She uses 1 pound sharp cheddar in her iteration. Dave says, “It was really good.” I guess that is as descriptive as he wants to be right now. As for my impressions, I think it was excellent. Normally I am leery of baked macaroni because I think it tends to get dry. This version was extremely creamy prior to baking it, and a bit less so after taking it out of the oven. I may have enjoyed the texture of the unbaked version a little better, but it tasted so good that my texture issues fell by the wayside. I ate two bowls for dinner, and heated up a container full (with a dash of whole milk) for lunch the next day at work.

Yummy!

Topped with cheese in my Pyrex casserole dish

2 Responses to “My Quest for the World’s Greatest Mac & Cheese”

  1. Arden August 17, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    I have been using this one for awhile now. I at least double the bacon topping. Nice Blog!

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/mac-n-cheese-with-bacon-and-cheese-recipe/index.html

    -arden

  2. Carla August 26, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    Good luck with your search. I know how you love your mac and cheese. Let me know your final decision.

Leave a Reply

