Animal Crackers

2 Sep

Dave and I are leaving bright and early in the morning to drive down to Kentucky Lake for a little min-vacation with some friends of Dave’s from high school. I thought I would be domestic today (being temporarily unemployed and all) and make some of my FAVORITE cookies to share on our trip.  I think I am also going to drop some off at my parents house as a welcome home surprise for them and my brother and sister, who have been vacationing in Glen Arbor, Michigan for the past week. I couldn’t go this year, so I am pretty jealous of all the beach-y fun they are having “Up North.” I am looking forward to our trip down South, though, and these cookies should make the seven hour drive go a little faster! For Christmas I picked out some super cute animal cracker cookie cutters from Williams-Sonoma–the recipe is theirs. After baking the cookies I put them in some cellophane bags I had leftover from my Valentine’s cookies and tied them with a little green yarn (…pretty sure I won’t be learning to knit anytime soon).

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp. mace
  • 1 1/2 sticks (12 tbsps.) unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Over a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and mace. Set to the side.
  2. In an electric mixer fitted with the flat beater, beat the butter on high-speed for 2 minutes. Reduce speed to medium and add sugar and beat for two minutes
  3. Scrape down the sides of the mixing bowl. Add the egg and vanilla and beat for one minute, stopping the mixer once to scrape down the sides of the bowl.
  4. Stop the mixer and add half of the flour mixture. Beat on low-speed until most of the flour is absorbed. Add the remaining flour and beat until all of it has been absorbed and the dough starts to pull away from the sides.
  5. Turn the dough onto a work surface and divide into two balls. Shape each ball into a disk and wrap in plastic wrap or parchment paper. Refrigerate dough for 2 hours or overnight.
  6. Roll out the dough to 1/8 of an inch thick on a floured work surface. Cut the dough with your cookie cutters and place them on cookie sheets lined with parchment paper.
  7. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  8. Bake cookies for 12-13 minutes until the edges are slightly golden brown.
2 Responses to “Animal Crackers”

  1. Carla September 3, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    How cute! You should bake some for Scott sometime. Animal crackers are his favorite!
    Have fun in Kentucky!

  2. Tori September 18, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    These look so cute – I love the giraffes! The recipe looks yummy too… I’ll have to try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

