BBQ & BBT

25 Mar

I thought I should let you all in on the masterwork that is my pizza crust. Last night Dave and I enjoyed a homemade BBQ Chicken Pizza and watched a DVD of our latest favorite show, The Big Bang Theory.

First things first: my Never Fail Pizza Crust (courtesy of The Joy of Cooking).
1. Dissolve one packet of yeast into 1 1/3 cup warm water in a large bowl for 5 minutes.
2. Add to the yeast-water mixture:
– 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
-1 tbsp. salt
-1 tbsp. sugar
-2 tbsps. olive oil
3. Mix all the ingredients until they form a big ball of dough. You can add a little more flour if your dough is too sticky. Then throw a little bit more olive oil on the dough ball to coat it.
4. Let the dough rise for 1 hour.
5. When making your pizza, use only 1/2 to 3/4 of the ball of dough, depending on the size of your pizza pan. It helps to put a little cornmeal on your pizza pan first to give the bottom a nice crispy crust, and to keep your pizza from sticking to the pan.
6. Top your pizza and cook it in a 475 degree oven for 12 minutes.

Pizza: pre-baked.

You may choose to mix up your pizza dough in your Kitchen Aid mixer, if you are so lucky as I am to have one. In lime green, no less. It is hands down my favorite kitchen appliance.

The dough hook looks like a question mark.

If you do so, make sure to use the dough hook, as it works best for bread like substances. I used the mixer last night for the first time making pizza crust (usually I just mix it up by hand), and it worked really well to get all the ingredients together in a cohesive mass. My thought was, however, that it almost works too well and that additional flour was necessary to keep the dough from being really sticky. That is an easy fix, though. Here is what came out of the oven yesterday:

Caldwell Pizza Kitchen. BBQ Style.

Now on to more important things: Television. If you have never watched The Big Bang Theory, I suggest you get your head out from under a rock and tune in Monday nights on CBS. I’ll be the first to admit that my husband and I are kind of nerdy. He is really into the universe and things that are radioactive, and I have a fondness for sci-fi movies and the US Constitution. And I went through my own space phase in elementary school, what with Star Lab and telescopes and my paralyzing fear of alien abduction. So I can certainly appreciate a show about a bunch of maladjusted physicists with girl-phobia and a healthy super-hero addiction. With that, I’ll end this post today with some of my favorite show clips I found on the youtubes.


Leave a Reply

