‘Mato Soup

1 Feb

In college, I lived with thirteen other girls, and my housemate Chrissy would decide on a cold winter day that it was ‘Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese Day.’ So we would either make a big pot of Cambell’s and a bunch of sandwiches, or head to the nearest dining hall with that exact menu offering. Living with those girls was the best living arrangement, aside from marriage, that I have ever had. It was always lots of fun to gossip with my girlfriends over a bowl of warm soup and a crispy, gooey, grilled cheese sammich.

Today, I introduced the concept of Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese Day into our married life. This time, however, I made my own tomato soup from scratch. And it is the bomb. I thought I would throw up the recipe, adapted from The  Pioneer Woman. And seriously, check out The Pioneer Woman Cooks! It is my favorite cookbook of all time.

yummy in my tummy!

Ingredients:
(1) tbsp. of butter
(2) 14.5 ounce cans of diced tomatoes
(46) ounces tomato juice
(1) tablespoon onion powder
(4) tablespoons sugar
(2) tablespoons chicken bouillon powder (or 3 cubes)
(1.5) cups of heavy cream
(lots of) black pepper, basil, and parsley

Instructions:
1. Melt 1 tbsp. of butter in a large soup pot
2. Stir in 2 cans of diced tomatoes
3. Add sugar and onion powder
4. At this point, I blended the tomato/butter combination to make the soup extra creamy. Or you can skip this step if you prefer a chunkier tomato soup
5. Combine tomato puree and tomato juice with the chicken bouillon powder and lots of black pepper and bring just to a boil
6. Take the soup off the heat and stir in the heavy cream. Add a few tablespoons each parsley and basil for color and flavor. Fresh herbs would probably be awesome, but I just used dry.
7. Put in bowls and serve with grilled cheese sammiches

One Response to “‘Mato Soup”

  1. Chrissy February 13, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    Tomato soup and grilled cheese day lives on! Yay! I will try that recipe as soon as I get a blender and soup pot. The other day, I had a grilled cheese made with white cheddar and roasted heirloom tomatoes…omg, soooo gooooood….

Leave a Reply

